You are here


Congratulations to faculty, graduate students and alumni from the University of Maryland’s School of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies (TDPS), who were nominated for 2016 Helen Hayes Awards in recognition of their exceptional work in the Washington D.C. theater scene.

“The number of Helen Hayes Award nominations that TDPS faculty, graduate students and alumni have received this year indicates the continued growth of our school’s contributions to the local theatre scene,” said Leigh Wilson Smiley, director of TDPS.

Created in the 1980s, the Helen Hayes Award celebrates theatrical excellence in the Washington metropolitan area and is considered one of the most prestigious theater awards in the country.

The Helen Hayes Award ceremony will be held on Monday, May 23.

2016 Nominees

Outstanding Choreography in a Play—Helen Production

Casey Caleba and Mathew Wilson, “The Lieutenant of Inishmore,” Constellation Theatre Company

Outstanding Musical Direction—Helen Production

Michael Winch, “Doctor Caligari,” Pointless Theatre

Outstanding Costume Design—Hayes Production

Collin Ranney, “Flowers Stink,” The Kennedy Center

Outstanding Costume Design—Helen Production

Robert Croghan, “The Cribble of Inishmaan,” Scena Theatre

Kara Waala, “Avenue Q,” Constellation Theatre Company

Outstanding Lighting Design—Helen Production

A.J. Guban, “Avenue Q,” Constellation Theatre Company

Outstanding Set Design—Hayes Production

Andrew Cohen and Brian MacDevitt, “Murder Ballad,” Studio Theatre

Outstanding Set Design—Helen Production

Patti Kalil, “Doctor Caligari,” Pointless Theatre

Outstanding Director of a Play--Hayes Production

Eleanor Holdridge, “Queens Girl in the World,” Theater J

Aaron Posner, “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead,” Folger Theatre

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical—Helen Production

Vaughn Ryan Midder, “Avenue Q,” Constellation Theatre Company

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play—Helen Production

Felicia Curry, “Oliver!” Adventure Theatre MTC

Gwen Grastorf, “Impossible! A Happenstance Circus,” Happenstance Theater

Anu Yadav, “In Love and Warcraft,” No Rules Theatre Company

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play—Hayes Production

Caroline Clay, “The Blood Quilt,” Arena Stage

The Robert Prosky Award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play—Hayes Production

Mitchell Hébert, “Uncle Vanya,” Round House Theatre

For more information about the Helen Hayes Awards, click here.