You are here


Helen Hayes

Congratulations to the University of Maryland's School of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies Professors, part-time Instructional faculty and alumni for their well earned 30th Annual Helen Hayes Awards!  



  • Outstanding director, resident play: Mitchell Hébert, “Glengarry Glen Ross,” Round House Theatre (TDPS Professor)
  • Outstanding ensemble, resident play: “Glengarry Glen Ross,” Round House Theatre (directed by Mitchell Hebert)
  • Outstanding sound design, resident production: Eric Shimelonis, “Never the Sinner,” 1st Stage (TDPS Adjunct)
  • Outstanding lead actor, resident musical: James Gardiner, “The Last Five Years,” Signature Theatre (TDPS Alumna)
  • Charles MacArthur award for outstanding new play or musical: “Stupid F---ing Bird” by Aaron Posner, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company  (TDPS Adjunct)
  • John Aniello Award for Outstanding Emerging Theatre Company: Pointless Theatre Company (TDPA Alumni)
  • Outstanding visiting production: “The Book of Mormon,” the Kennedy Center (Lighting Design by Brian MacDevitt - TDPS Associate Professor).

Since 1985, the Helen Hayes Awards have celebrated outstanding theatrical achievement throughout the Washington metropolitan area. Named for the legendary First Lady of the American Theatre, the awards bring national attention to one of the region's greatest cultural resources. Artistic achievement is awarded in 26 categories, attracting artistic, corporate, philanthropic, social, and political leaders to honor the talent and creativity that have established Washington as the second most prolific theatre town in the country.

Kudos to all of UMD’s TDPS faculty, students and alumni who were nominated as well!